The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station."To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth i

The passage concludes that rock music should be replaced by the news and talk format in the WWAC radio station. The author highlights the benefits it will pose to the increase in the number of listeners of the radio station WWAC. While at first reading the argument seems quite conceivable, a closer look spells out a number of assumptions that could undermine its assessment.

Firstly, the author gives the reason that number of retired people have been increased; thus, it will be beneficial to change the format of the radio station. Arguer has not provided any solid evidence or statistical data. The decrease in number of listeners maybe the result of various factors. Perhaps people are interested in other channels of entertainment such as television, internet etc. Thus, changing the format of WWAC station may not help to increase the number of listeners. Therefore, a survey should be conducted so that the real reason behind it will be known.

Secondly, the passage states that decline in local sales of recorded music indicates that people are not interested in listening music; hence, there is decrease in number of listeners of the WWAC radio station. However, there are ample of reasons which may contribute to the lowering of sales of recorded music. Perhaps the collection of recorded music may not be good enough to entice customers to purchase it. Additionally, people maybe seeking other ways to listen music. There are chances that rates of recorded music have shoot up and this is the cause behind its' lowered sales.

Thirdly, there is no guarantee that switching to the news and talk format will augment the number of listeners. Listeners may enjoy news for an allotted time, but they may not enjoy it if the news is broadcast for whole day. Moreover, in such case, quality of news also matters. If the qualitative news is not given, number of listeners may further decrease by large number. This may be the case with rock music. People may not be listening to the radio because the songs played are not liked by them.

To conclude, though it seems that author has done some research before backing the prospect of changing the format of radio station by replacing rock music by the news and talk shows in order to increase the number of listeners, an in-depth scrutiny reveals that none of the arguments put forth are backed by exhaustive analysis; thus, providing little credible support. As it stands, the recommendation looks flawed in multiple respects and may not give the results the author expects.