The following appeared in a memorandum from a dean at Omega University."Fifteen years ago, Omega University implemented a new procedure that encouraged students to evaluate the teaching effectiveness of all their professors. Since that time, Omega profess

The dean of Omega University suggests to terminate the process of evaluation of professors as this is a reason that students of this university are not able to secure jobs. At first glance the memorandum seems to be convincing. But on deeper look it has many loopholes.

Firstly, it is given in the letter that the process of evaluation of professors encouraged students to assess professors. This is an important procedure as many teachers shows laid back attitude towards completion of the course, or in clearing doubts of students, and many of them do not show much interest in teaching in classes as they want students to join tuition classes after college. This procedure encourage professors to teach well in the class as they are aware of consequences of not teaching in their classes. In case some of students are not giving honest review regarding professors that does not mean that all students are providing flawed review. Mostly students are concerned towards gaining knowledge from teachers in order to do well in examinations.

Secondly, it is not necessary that good marks are secured by students due advantage given by their professors. Maybe students are veraciously doing well in exams. There may be the case that question paper is not difficult, thus, students are getting marks easily in examinations. In such case, Omega University is required to change their question paper pattern so that students study hard to get good marks in the tests. This do not indicate that professors are distributing free marks in exams so that students evaluate their teaching nicely.

Lastly, perhaps students are not able to get jobs as they are not able to perform well in interviews. In such case, the university is required to set up personality development classes for students. So that students are able to crack interview for jobs. It may be the case that Alpha University is providing courses that are in demand in market and thus, students are getting more job opportunities. Perhaps Omega University are not offering such courses and required to introduce them.

To sum up, as aforementioned reasons are ignored by the dean of the university. The arguer is required to do more research before making the proposal for removal of professor teaching evaluation procedure.