"Some people believe that competition for high grades motivates students to excel in the classroom. Others believe that such competition seriously limits the quality of real learning." - Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns

Education is an important aspect for every person. Educated people help a nation to develop and progress. But real development of a society comes with real learning. I agree that competition is hampering in gaining fathom knowledge of any subject and promotes superficial learning. Though healthy competition is good to stay motivated to do hard work in studies. But in rat race of securing good marks, students are giving more stress to techniques through which they can get high grades. I would like explore this more in the following essay.

First and foremost, from primary classes, parents start giving push to their children to get good marks. Most of the time parents motivate their kids to do well in examinations. Less likely they encourage children to gain deep knowledge of a subject. The whole education system is flawed. If a student wants to gain more knowledge on a topic, teachers are not able to entertain such students as they are bound by time restricted syllabus and are supposed to complete it within given period of time frame. In this way teachers are preparing students to do well in the examinations. Education system focuses much on higher grades of students. Moreover, real learning is not needed much to earn higher grades.

Besides this, competition is hampering the quality education, as high grades is the only aim of students. Education system promotes rote learning. In order to do well in exams students give more emphasis on cramming the course and reproduce it in tests. Nowadays, there are many institutes which focuses on shortcuts to solve questions. Instead of giving meaningful knowledge to the students, they are taught to do questions quickly. Till higher school students are given theoretical knowledge. Though, few courses in college provides practical knowledge, but again more importance is given to marks scored in exams. In a way, competition is promoting rote learners, whereas,students who really want to have qualitative learning are not given much heed.

Lastly, however scholars cannot be ignored. These people learn every topic with good understanding. Extraordinary students are less in number. Thus, the education pattern should be made according to all students. There is need of improvement in the way knowledge is imparted from primary level itself, than only some change can be noticed. There is need of real learning among students, so that society and nation can progress in true means. However a healthy competition motivates students to study well, but nowadays, due to increased competition in every sphere people are forgetting true means of quality learning.

To conclude, I would like to reiterate my point that competition is limiting the quality learning and is promoting rote learning. So that students can get good grades irrespective of the fact that they really are understanding the topic or not.