The best way to solve environmental problems caused by consumer-generated waste is for towns and cities to impose strict limits on the amount of trash they will accept from each household.

Environment is an important part of our life. It is our duty to keep the surrounding clean in order to stay healthy as polluting it is detrimental for our health. However, I do not agree with the author that only way to keep the environmental problems at bay is to place restrictions on the amount of wastes trashed by each household there are certain reasons to it which I would like discuss in the following essay.

First and foremost, it is not easy to check and control the amount of wastes dumped by the households. People will find another way to dump the trash if strict limits are imposed. For example, they will throw the garbage in the public places like parks and this in turn will increase the problem of pollution rather than solving it. Moreover, the government will face one more challange to overcome. Thus, it can be said that imposing limits on the trash disposal is not going to help in keeping the surrounding clean and pollution free.

Besides this, I believe that turning the household trash into something useful can reduce the environmental problems. For example, using food wastes as manure by composting it. This in turn may encourage to lessen the use of chemical manure used in the agriculture as it is freely available. Additionally, the household wastes can also be use to generate electricity. Thus, saving non-renewable energy resources such as coal which is used in large amount for the electricity generation and is depleting very fast and it may prove pollution free way to produce electricity. Therefore, solving two problems at the same time.

Thus, it can be said that restrictions to the household wastes may solve the problem related to environment, but it can not be considered as long term goal. The environmental problems can be solved by taking measures as discussed above by using the wastes and turning it into something advantageous for both the environment and people.