Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Nature's way considers to open their new franchise in Plainsville. They assume they can make profit under three hypotheses: First, schoolchildren in this town are their potential customers. Second, the high sale of exercise clothing means the residents are interested in their health. Third, the number of members of the local health club means the residents are interested in their well-being. Unfortunately, their assumptions could be broken and I will explain why.

Firstly, they assume that mandatory participation of schoolchildren on fitness-for-life program makes the schoolchildren their potential customers: since school students learn how to maintain their health during their life, and they will learn the importance of regular exercise, they will be customers of Nature's Way. Under this assumption, they expected their rosy future profits. However, the assumption can be broken when, for example, when children are participated in but are not interested in the class so they do not take the class seriously, or they learn the importance of regular exercises but also learn how to do exercise without any help of health-related products. In these cases, schoolchildren would not contribute to Nature's Way's future incoming.

Secondly, they also presumes high need on running shoes and exercise clothing means residents of Plainsville are highly interested in healthy lives. They conclude from this assertion that the residents would buy their products. Unfortunately, there are other possibilities of their purchase: for example, most of Plainsville's residents could work physically, and they need comfortable clothes for their working. Under this unwarranted situation, Nature's way could still sell lots of their running shoes and exercise clothes, but not their other products.

Lastly, they also made an assumption that people in Plainsville get interested to their well-being, based on the observation that the number of members of the local health club and those who take training and aerobics classes. This assumption leads to the conclusion, namely, Plainsville people would buy their products aggressively than the other people. However, a number of the members could come from other towns: for example, there is a famous aerobic lecturer in the local health club in Plainsville, so people in other towns are interested to take courses in the health club. In this situation, people from other towns has no reason to use stores in Plainsville, and they would not contribute to Nature's Way's profit.

In summary, the company assumes could-be-wrong hypotheses. First, the schoolchildren could not be their future customers. Second, the high sales on their clothes does not mean the residents are interested their health. Third, a number of members of the local health club are probably do not reside in Plainsville.