The following appeared on the Mozart School of Music Web site.

"The Mozart School of Music should be the first choice for parents considering enrolling their child in music lessons. First of all, the Mozart School welcomes youngsters at all ability and age levels; there is no audition to attend the school. Second, the school offers instruction in nearly all musical instruments as well a wide range of styles and genres from classical to rock. Third, the faculty includes some of the most distinguished musicians in the area. Finally, many Mozart graduates have gone on to become well-known and highly paid professional musicians."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The Mozart School of Music advertises itself as it would be the best choice among other music schools. However, their advertisement presumes unproven hypotheses: First, the wide coverage of their teaching does not mean good quality. Second, there is no reason the presence of distinguished faculties implies the good quality of teaching. Third, the school's graduates' output does not mean the school teaches their students well.

Firstly, it argues it has famous and distinguished faculties. To derive the conclusion that the school is best choice, we have to assume that the ability of distinguished faculties is positively related to teaching. It is also possible, however, that famous faculties are not appear frequently so students have no chance to be taught by them, or their teaching skill is poor. Under these unwarranted situation, we could not say The Mozart School of Music is the best choice.

Secondly, the school advertises it teaches about almost all of musical instruments and a wide range of genres. However, they tell nothing about the quality of their wide coverage of teaching. It is possible, as their name might suggest, that they really covers various range of instruments and genres, but what they really concentrates on is limited, like classics. In this case, students outside of this limited genres or instruments could receive poor quality of teaching. Especially, they advertises some of their faculties are famous musicians: compare with this fact, it is also possible that there are genres whose faculties of the school is not distinguished. Although we do not have a reason to presume all distinguished musicians teaches well, mentioning both facts could belie their teaching environment.

Thirdly, the school claims that many graduates of them are well-paid and famous musicians. To deduce the conclusion from this fact, we have to demonstrate that their teaching is really related to graduates' high salary and fame. It is also simply possible that almost all of students of the schools have high financial ability, or all of their parents are musicians. In this case, the students can be provided lessons outside of the school, or chances of joining famous performances. Under this unwarranted situation, the relation between the school and graduates' outputs would be weakened.

I have examined three non-averred hypotheses in this advertisement. Unless the school shows these assumption is valid, we should carefully speculate their advertisement before to enroll our children to their school.