Claim: The surest indicator of a great nation must be the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.

Reason: Great achievements by a nation's rulers, artists, or scientists will ensure a good life for the majority of that nation's people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

There are two types of great nations: a nation with highest influence into human culture - which I call "cultural-superior nation" and a nation with greatest welfare for all of its people - which will be called "welfare-superior nation". Although both concepts are related, they are not necessarily coincide. I agree that the achivements of rulers, artists and scientists of a nation is a surest indicator for a cultural-superior nation, but not for a welfare-superior nation. Therefore, both concepts are independent of each other. Some critics may argue that both concepts are strongly related, but I will refute their counterclaims.

First, welfare-superiority does not necessarily mean the cultural-superiority. Even if welfare is provided in a proper way, there motivation for science or art could be lacked. In that case, welfare does not provide the development of science or art in the nation, and their cultural influence could not reach the human culture.

The possible refutation is, social welfare is necessary to work artists and scientists properly, because they could not produce a work without financial stability. However, Soviet Union and People Rupblic of China tried to provide equal welfare to their people. However, they also supresses artstic activities, so it could not developed and their cultural power could not exceed that of the United States.

Second, achievements of rulers, creators and scholars could not measure whether a nation is a welfare-superior nation or not. As mentioned, retaining highest achivements does not mean it can be distributed equally. There is a possible refutation: achievements of these individuals are necessary to maintain a social welfare. They may argue, for example, that people in the society could not maintain their well-beings if rulers governs their nations in an unstable way, or scientists do not develop techniques for human beings like vaccines. However, people in the society could not enjoy their outputs if the government does not provide its benifits in a proper way. The United States is a good example: they has lots of scientists and doctors who can develop a new medicines and treatments. However, most of citizens cannot enjoy it because of their high prices. If the United States has a well-formed welfare, the price should be lower than now.