"Recently, we signed a contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our fast-food warehouse in Palm City, but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff Pest Control Company, which we have used for many years, continued to service our warehouse in Wintervale, and last month only $10,000 worth of the food stored there had been destroyed by pest damage. Even though the price charged by Fly-Away is considerably lower, our best means of saving money is to return to Buzzoff for all our pest control services."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The vice president of a food distribution company seems in a deep sorrow due to huge loss of the company's food. He or she blames the pest control company, and he or she decides to contract with the previous pest control company. We need some evidence, however, to evaluate whether his or her argument is right: first, we have to compare the price of food and services of a pest control company. Second, we must compare the severity of pest in Wintervale and Palm City. Third, we have to compare the value of food in two warehouses.

To justify the conclusion in the memo, we first have to show that the price of damaged food exceeds that of payments for a pest control company. It must be checked that services of a pest control company could be far more expensive than price of food. If we prove the former strictly excels the latter, to return to Buzzoff could be a good choice, under the assumption that will-be-mentioned conditions hold. Otherwise, however, changing the pest control company could not be a profitable choice.

Secondly, we have to show the pest in Palm City is as severe as that of Wintervale to show the assertion in the memo is valid. There is a possibility that pest in Palm City is more severe that than of Wintervile, so even the best pest control company could not help food getting worse. If the pest in two cities are equally severe, then we may regard that Fly-Away Pest Control is poor at protecting food from pest. If not, changing the pest control company could not be a good option.

Lastly, we also have to verify the amount and price of food in each warehouses: it could be equal or not. If the warehouse in Palm City had contained twice much, or twice more expensive food than that of Wintervale, then the loss of the warehouse of Palm city would be greater than that of Wintervale under same pest. If the value of food in each warehouses are the same, then changing pest control company could be justified. Otherwise, the vice president have to re-check his or her reasoning again.

We examined three evidences have to be checked. If one of them is hostile against the vice president's opinion, his or her opinion should be re-verified.