All students should be required to take the driver's education course at Centerville high school. In the past two years, several accidents in and around Centerville have involved teenage drivers. Since a number of parents in Centerville have complained that they are too busy to teach their teenagers to drive, some other instruction is necessary to ensure that these teenagers are safe drivers. Although there are two driving schools in Centerville, parents on a tight budget cannot afford to pay for driving instruction. Therefore an effective and mandatory program sponsored by the high school is the only solution to this serious problem.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Unfortunately, many teenagers are involved with accidents in Centerville. School administrations think teaching their students is the only solution to reduce it, but their conclusion contains three unproved hypotheses: they assume that teenagers related to accidents are their students. Moreover, they presume that their curriculum forces students to drive safely. Moreover, they also assume that students are the only reason of accidents related to students themselves.

First, the letter assumes that every teenage drivers who have involved with accidents around Centerville is a student of Centerville High School. Based on this assumption, the passage conclude that driving instruction sponsored by the high school can reduce accidents in and around Centerville. This assumption can be invalidated when, for example, most of the teenages involved with accidents are not students of Centerville High School or not residents of Centerville. In that case, their solution cannot bar teenage drivers to involve accidents.

Second, the letter also presumes that their teaching forces teenagers to drive safe. This assumption leads to the conclusion that a mandatory driver's education course reduces accidents involved with teenagers. However, it is also possible that teenage drivers intend to violate rules for safe drive intentionally, even when they know it, possibly for their fun. In this case, teaching them could not reduce the accidents related to teenagers.

Third, the passage is also based on the assumption that the reason of accidents related to teenagers ascribes the juvenile drivers. Therefore, they conclude that they have to teach teenagers, not other drivers. However, teenagers could not the reason of accidents associated with them. For example, teenage drivers do not know how to violate rules "well" unlike adult drivers, like violating speed rules over speed-restricted roads, so teenagers are involved with accidents. In this case, we need to teach adult drivers, not teenage drivers, and teaching the latter will not be successful.<br>