Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company decides to advertise their movies more aggresively, under the analysis that the increment of good reviews about some of their movies is increased, so the quality of their movies is not a problem. However, their analysis is based on unproved hypotheses: first, they inadequately assume some reviewed movies represent all of their movies. Second, they presume good reviews truly represents the whole viewers, Third, they could misinterpret the meaning of the increment of percentage: the percentage could be still low even if it increases, and the percentage does not reflect a possible decrement of the number of viewers.

Firstly, good reviews about specific movies of Super Screen does not mean every movie published by Super Screen is of good quality. The possiblity that Super Screen makes a few masterpieces and a plenty of poor movies is opened. Therefore, we have to investigate the reviewed movies can represent the whole movies made by Super Screen. If the hypothesis is correct, we could conclude movies by the company is in good quality. If not, we can say nothing about the quality of Super Screen-produced movies.

Secondly, we have to investigate reviewers who give good reviews truely represent the whole perspective viewers. It is possible that they provides good reviews just because they are big fans for Super Screen movies. If viewers with good reviews really represente the whole viewers, we can conclude the quality of the reviewed movies nice. If not, however, we cannot conclude anything about the quality.

Thirdly, the increment of percentage of good reviews also could not mean the reviewed movies is of nice quality. Imagine movies of the company recieved a 1% of good review during the past year and receives 2% of good reviewes during this year. The percentage of good reviewes is increased, but can we say that the movie is good quality? There are still 98% of neutral or bad reviews about their movies, so we cannot easily conclude the quality of their movies improved. Moreover, the percentage is susceptible for the number of whole reviewers: if the number of super fans, who will give strongly nice reviews, is constant and the number of other ordinaty viewers is decreased, then the percentage of positive reviews of the movie will be increased. However, in this case, the increment does not represent the increased popularity of their movies.

We reviewed the unproved hypotheses in the director's decision. If he or she could not verify the hypotheses, he or she could make wrong conclusion, which results in inaffective use of budget and effort.