Claim: In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

I strongly agree that every power in any field have to step down after 5 years. During replacing the power, many groups conflicts; it helps to reflect various voices from variuos groups into a field. Moreover, by underlining every power will be step down, they will not stick to the power so they will be more precarious on their field and especially not hide a problem in their field.

Firstly, Changing the head of a field periodically can lead to a balance between partisans: it sounds like not beneficial, as conflict between two or more parties consumes time, energy and costs. However, it also mean a variety of opinions can be represented in a field: by reflecting various voices from different groups, we can fix problems which cannot be caughted under a single perspective. For example, discriminations and biases against women was not emphasized until women have given an economic, social, scientific and literary attribution. By getting a share from each fields, women can represent themselves and their identities, and it have diminishing prevalent misogyny in our society.

As mentioned, however, conflicts between groups takes a cost. I think, however, it does not mean just sticking one perspective and not changing a head does not leads us to economic efficiency: they overshadows various problems they could not see, or they do not want to see, and it sometimes causes more serious problem, which can be noticed if various views are allowed.

Moreover, letting individuals into a perpetuating power makes them to be "rotten": even if they find a prevalent and serious inherent problems in their field, they could not fix it if they think it threatens their power. They forgot their original ideal, and they just stick to their power so that they do everything for their power, including not fixing inherent problems of their field - I will call this status "rotten". If they know they have to step down eventually, however, keeping the problem is less advantageous for them, so a chance of fixing a problem is improved.

Some opponents presents People Republic of China and Singapore as a counterexample: they have unchanged, ideal leaders so that they brings their society a dramatic economical development. However, do these countries really not "rotten"? I think not. The new coronavirus outbreak, starting from Wuhan, disproves their argument. There are doctors who warns this coronavirus, but the authority ignores and suppresses the whistleblowers, as it might cause social disturbance. The cost is, thousands of deaths including one whistleblowing doctor.