The primary goal of technological advancement should be to increase people's efficiency so that they have more leisure time.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

There are opinions that our technological development have to focused on increasing people's efficiency, as it provides us more leisure time. I agree that the techenological development helps us to reduce our work payload. however, I also think that these achievements could not necessarily mean we can enjoy more leisure time: first, companies and employers could downplay our performances and reduce our salary. Therefore, we have to find additional job for more money, or our leisure time will be restricted to cost-free hobbies. Second, improving efficiency could lead to a paradoxical result: it could make more workload for each employee.

Firstly, I think the development of technology could lead us a reduced salary: since increased efficiency reduces our time on work, employers might think they do not need to pay more for their employees. they even conclude that they need to reduce their employees for saving their money, as a few people is sufficient to their business thanks to technology. A possible opposition is, my example does not account for the whole situation: jobs requiring creativity and high education will be benefited by increased efficiency without any loss, as they could do more work due to improved efficiency. Moreover, they are not substitutable so they will not fired. I agree their claim, but the opposition does not accout for general situation: most of of jobs requires neither creative nor high education. In these case, people will be replaced with technology, and unfortunate job losers will stray for irregular, low-paid work.

Secondly, ironically, improving efficiency can make more work, so employees will be troubled with endless work. For example, the object of the development of telecommunication is to reduce time for communicate each other. however, its development induces lots of international co-works and interaction, and it results in more work. Furthermore, with the development of computer and mobile devices, employees can perform their jobs at every time, everywhere.