All college and university students would benefit from spending at least one semester studying in a foreign country.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

There is a dispute whether every university student would benefit from foreign exchange program at least one semester. I agree this opinion, and there are two reason why I speculate in this way: it helps to widen students' experience, and moreover, it provides the most efficient way to learn a foreign language.

Firstly, studying overseas improves the width of students' experience and knowledge. Definitely, wide knowledge for foreign is an important competence for students, especially for those who want to work internationally. However, I also agree that foreign exchange program may impede the depth of students' knowledge: students have to familiar with foreign culture, style and language, that is, they have to spent their effort to basic stuffs. Therefore, they cannot put much effort to their study during foreign exchange program. Despite that, it does not mean we would not provide benifits for foreign exchange program for students. We can teach other countries culture, language, their behaviors and ethos for students, before they go to overseas for the exchange program. It can reduces students' time and effort for living an alien country.

Secondly, foreign exchange program provides students the strongest language exchange program: the most effective way to learn a language is to live a country which uses the language as a mother tongue. Opponents may argue, however, that not every student want to learn foreign language, and it is also possible that students fail to improve their foreign language during the exchange program. Therefore, they could argue that universities need not urge students foreign exchange program. Their opinion has a weak point, however: many universities include second-language proficiency as a graduation requirements. For example, lots of East Asian universities requires English proficiency test score for graduation. If universities do not urge and support foreign exchange program, students will not consider the strongest way to learn language as a first option, as it requires lots of efforts and cost.