Colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach.

Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider the possible consequences of implementing the policy and explain how these consequences shape your position.

There is a disputation whether universities should require all professions to work outside their academic world, for teaching or relevant jobs. I think requiring all faculty to do this is inefficient decision: as it reduces profession's time for research. However, as distributing correct knowledge is also important, I suggest hiring persons specialized for teaching would be better.

Firstly, forcing professions to work outside their academic world for teaching the relevant courses could harm the profession's research. The aim of university is not only teaching and distributing knowledge, but also developing and elaborating it. Preparing teaching is an exacting job, takes time and effort. Especially, teaching laypersons requires more effort, as experts should explain the basic backgrounds they usually assumes but laypersons do not know. As time is a limited resource, preparing lectures for non-experts means the experts should reduce time for their study.

Some proponents of pop sciences might argue that, those who understands their research topic properly can easily teach other people, with invoking Hilbert's adage "If you cannot teach your knowledge 10-years-old child, then you cannot say you understand it properly", so the policy would not harm professions' research seriously. However, their opinion is simply wrong: it is well-known that many pop science book writers stops real research: for example, Richard Dawkins' recent research article is written 20 years ago. Keith Devlin, a famous writer about mathematics, also stopped research on set theory before 20 years ago. In contrast, I have not heard any Nobel Prize winner who is famous due to his or her pop science books. We could not say pop science writers an expert on a given field, though they could be called a brilliant writers.

However, it does not deny the importance of distribution of knowledge; the development of the Internet allows easy distribution of information, but it also helps to spread various false and wrong ones. Experts are best persons who correct this situation, as they know the correct knowledge. If universities stop requiring their faculties to work outside their academic world for teaching, experts would choose easier way: not to work outside their world, as it is demanding job but hardly beneficial, especially as their value are apprised by their research results. Although forcing all faculties to teach laymen is inefficient, the universities could requiring some of them to do it. Moreover, training "mass-media communicator" in university level is also efficient in the view that they can concentrate on how to teach non-experts rather than researches, like pop science writers.

To summarize, urging all faculties to work outside of profession's academic world for teaching is inefficient, as it hampers their research. However, as distributing correct knowledge is also important, universities should keep their policies in some way, so I suggest training some experts on teaching knowledge, rather forcing all faculties.