The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Cooperation and competition is an essential components of the society. Both ability needs for leaders: I think cooperation with individuals, and competition with groups is necessary for leaders. Cooperating with individuals with a group, the leader can control the group. Competing with other groups, leaders can solidify their own groups.

A person with leadership should have an ability to control and persuade a variety of individuals: nobody would follow him or her without appealing his or her opinion, and just pushing the opinion sometimes leads to uprising. Persuading someone requires getting other's feeling and reasoning, and make the own opinion to fit into the someone. Cooperation, rather than competition, is squarely related to this ability: cooperation usually needs to persuade someone their opinion, or to derive a conciliation.

However, the history seems to show there are strongmans, who seems never cooperate with the others, bringing great achievements. It might be true, but all examples I am aware of is not exactly fits in the counterargument: even though strongmans could not cooperate with their employee, they know how to cooperate with those who has position equivalent with them. For example, I have seen various generals when I was in compulsory military service. The stereotype of generals is to control privates by compulsory order, but generals I had seen is not: they have a strong sense of humor and they know how to persuade even privates.

I also agree that, nontheless, leaders should know to compete with other groups. This may seem to contradict with the previous opinion, but it really does not: the previous statement is about to cooperate with each individuals, and that I will talk about is to compete with various companies, not individuals. Competition between groups brings us a unification within each groups, as World Cup makes people in each country in unison.

However, it may harm cooperation between groups when it is needed: I have heard a story of CEO who suggests competition between each part of his company to leaders of each department. The competition solidifies each department, and it seems like in high productability. However, he could not conciliate each departments when it is needed, and it results in division of the whole company. Therefore, the leader should to adjust the level of competition: over-competition could split groups or harms themselves.