Recently, we signed a contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our fast-food warehouse in Palm City, but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff Pest Control Company, which we have used for many years, continued to service our warehouse in Wintervale, and last month only $10,000 worth of the food stored there had been destroyed by pest damage. Even though the price charged by Fly-Away is considerably lower, our best means of saving money is to return to Buzzoff for all our pest control services.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The vice president of this food distribution company suggests that the company should chooses Buzzoff Pest Control Company’s pest control services. However, several assumptions in the argument need supports.

The first assumption is that over $20000 worth of food in Palm City was destroyed by pest damage. Still, it might be possible that the weather in Palm City was wetter than other areas for a long period, such as having a rainfall amount being over 2000 milliliter per year. Thus, the food stored in Palm City was more likely to attract more pests because of this bad weather condition. Moreover, it was possible that the pests in Palm City were more aggressive than the ones in Wintervale. Thus, even if other the food distribution company chooses other pest control companies to deal the same situation, it is also likely to have the same results as Fly-away Pest Control Company. Therefore, we need more information about the weather condition in Palm City.

The author assumes that the lost food at the warehouse in Palm City accounted for a huge part of the total of food. However, a thorough financial report is not presented. If the $20000 worth of food only accounted for one percent of the total, then it was just a small loss for the food distribution company. However, if the $10000 worth of food at the warehouse in Wintervale accounted for over fifty percent of the total, then it would be a greater loss than the one in Palm City. Furthermore, it is also likely that the worth of lost food in Wintervale was over than $10000, but the employees did not report the true number to their supervisors. Because if they reported the true condition, they may be forced strict punishments by their company. Thus, the number of the worth of lost food might not be true. As a result, the author must provide more reliable report about how much the percentage of these lost food accounted for.

The author assumes that there was only $10000 worth of the food stored in Wintervale was destroyed in last month. However, the author must provide us with a long trend of future possible results instead of being based on one month result. If the weather in Wintervale of this month was better than other months, then it might be possible that there would be larger damages in other months. However, if the weather in Wintervale becomes wetter than past few years, then it is possible that the food stored in Wintervale will attract more pests to eat than before. As a result, the author must provide more detailed information about future possible weathers in Wintervale.

To sum up, the author would need to address the above assumptions to strengthen the argument.