The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. I predict that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits even more dramatically."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex suggests that modified showerheads will increase their profits. However, the author has answer following questions to strengthen his claim.

The author claims that the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation. However, how much will the change cost? It is possible that all the modified showerheads will need a good deal of cost to meet its goals. The corporation may need to pay for the workers several thousand dollars per day to modify the showerheads. In order to achieve the corporation’s goal, it may need to use the newest equipment to install these new showerheads, and these fees may also be astronomical for the corporation. Also, because the actual readings of water usage are not available, so the corporation can just restrict maximum water flow to two-third of it used to be, and one-third of usage may be a tough goal. Therefore, the author needs to answer the question of if this update of the showerheads will produce more additional costs.

The author states that there are only a few complaints about low water pressure. However, if there are more complaints about other problems? It is likely that these residents have encountered other serious problems. For example, with the adjustment, this new equipment may not be able to provide enough hot water for the residents because there are still lots of defects existing in this new equipment. Furthermore, there may be more residents have faced the same problems of low water pressure, however, as these residents were busy for their works, so they did not have spare time to report this situation to the corporation. Moreover, there may be some families will need original amount of water because these families have more family members than other people. As a result, the corporation has to conduct a thorough survey to understand the true reviews from the residents.

The author mentions that the corporation will increase its profits even more dramatically. However, if there are other factors will affect its profits? It is likely that there may be some extreme climates happening in this region in the future, such as a drought. These extreme climates may affect the costs of water because a drought can decrease the available amount of water largely, and the costs of water will also be more expensive than before. Because of these future possible weather trends, we may not be able to ensure that the costs of water will maintain the same rate. Therefore, the author has to ensure that the costs of water will maintain the same rate in the future.

The modified showerheads may somewhat increase the profits of this company. However, the author has to answer the above questions to strengthen his claim.