The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of Quiot Manufacturing.

"During the past year, Quiot Manufacturing had 30 percent more on-the-job accidents than at the nearby Panoply Industries plant, where the work shifts are one hour shorter than ours. Experts say that significant contributing factors in many on-the-job accidents are fatigue and sleep deprivation among workers. Therefore, to reduce the number of on-the-job accidents at Quiot and thereby increase productivity, we should shorten each of our three work shifts by one hour so that employees will get adequate amounts of sleep."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author suggests that Quiot Manufacturing should shorten each of their three work shifts by one hour to increase the productivity of their employees. However, several assumptions in the article need to be addressed.

The author assumes that the work shifts of Panoply Industries plant are one hour shorter than theirs. However, it was possible that Quiot Manufacturing was an world-class company, and its clients were many big-scale enterprises, such as TSMC or Nvidia, which were top-notch semiconductor companies. In order to meet these companies’ needs, this company would have more tasks to be addressed than Panoply Industries. Nevertheless, Panoply Industries only had to deal with less workloads, so the employees of Panoply Industries did not have to work for a longer hours. Moreover, it was also likely that these two companies were same scale, however, Panoply Industries hired more employees to word at assemble lines, so the employees of Panoply Industries could have less working hours than Quiot Manufacturing. Therefore, the author has to provide more information about these two companies.

The author assumes that these experts have superior ability to analyze the factors of these accidents . However, it is possible that these experts’ opinions are unreliable. For example, if these experts have doctoral degrees, we may somewhat believe their opinions. However, if these experts only have bachelor’s degrees, then we could not totally trust on their opinion. Moreover, these did not provide some more reliable reports to prove their ideas. If they can answer how much percentage of employees have these two problems of fatigue and sleep deprivation, we may be able to trust on their opinions. Furthermore, it is also possible that there may be more employees having health problems than Panoply Industries, so the percentage of on-the-job accidents of Quiot Manufacturing is higher than Panoply Industries. Therefore, the author has to tell us if these experts’ opinions are reliable.

The author assumes that if they shorten each of their three work shifts by one hour, the productivity of their employees can be increased. However, it is possible that if the employees can get one more hour to use, they may choose to play video games instead of sleep. Because these employees always have to deal with lots of tough issues when they worked, if they have more spare time to utilize, it is highly possible that they will use this extra time to refresh themselves, such as playing computer games or seeing a movie. As a result, the author has to ensure that if their employees can obtain more free time, they will decide to sleep more instead of doing other leisure activities.

Shortening each of their three work shifts by one hour may somewhat increase the productivity of their employees. However, the author has to address the assumptions mentioned above to strengthen the argument.