Do you agree or disagree with the following statement: primary schools should spend more time on teaching young students (5-11 years old) technology (like computer) than teaching music and art.

Primary schools provide lots of diverse subjects for young students. This will raise the question of whether primary schools should spend more time eaching young students technology than teaching music and art. In my opinion, I agree with the statement.

First of all, primary schools should take more time on teaching students technology because it could culture more technological professionals for economic development. Take Hsinchu city as an example. In the 1960s, this city once was just a rural and destitute area. However, in the 1980s, the Taiwanese government decided to introduce the industry into Hsinchu city. Thus, the local government chose to invest more funds into technological education in primaryschools. With this revolution, It could intrigue some students to commit themselves to these fields, such as semiconductor or software. In contrast, if the local government hadn’t decided to establish these educational programs, it might not have had these big enterprises, like TSMC or Media Tek, which were top-notch companies in the world.

Second, music and art could be provided by cram schools, however, the technology could be only taught by professional teachers. Taipei city will be a suitable example. In the 1980s, the local government decided to create both technological classes and music classes for students. However, the local government discovered that there were many different types of private educational institutes teaching lots of skills, such as piano or dance. Thus, the government chose to reduce the financial support for musical classes and put more budgets into technological classes, such as self-driving cars or robots, which interested the young students greatly. By contrast, if the local government made a decision to spend a good deal of funds on art and music, it might not have received the terrific effect.

To sum up, these are the two reasons why I agree with the statement. On one hand, we could generate more technological professionals for economic expansion. On the other hand, technological education could only be offered by schools.