Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Getting advice from friends who are older than you is more valuable than getting that from your peers.

Everyone has some outstanding friends who could give us lots of beneficial advice. This will raise the question of whether getting advice from friends who are older than you is more valuable than getting that from your peers. I will take the position that getting advice from older friends is a better choice.

First of all, friends who are older than me will have more pragmatic experiences, such as resolving a problem more efficiently. For example, when I was an undergraduate, I once worked in a well-known software company named Appier, which was a top-notch corporation in Taiwan. At that time, I had a mentor helping me to cope with a good deal of software issues, such as fixing some extremely tough program bugs. Moreover, he also gave me much useful practical advice, such as how to raise my software skills and so on. With his greatly helpful suggestions, I could boost my software ability largely and have a brighter future. In contrast, if I had chosen to get advice from my peers, I might have not been able to obtain such perfect suggestions.

Second, getting advice from friends who are older than me could broaden my vision. My previous experience will be a suitable instance. When I graduated from the college, I engaged in a software job at a first-rate enterprise named Google. Every junior engineer would be guided by a senior engineer in this business. I was taught by an outstanding engineer named Jack, and he completed many distinguished projects before I got into this big company. In the beginning, he not only conveyed lots of useful knowledge but also introduced other excellent colleagues to me. Therefore, we often discussed lots of diverse helpful information, such as how to establish strong contacts in the business or how to maintain a perfect marriage, which benefited deeply in the future. With their guidance, I could raise my capability largely and have more job opportunities in the future. By contrast, if I had decided to receive advice from my peers, I might have not been capable of broadening my vision.

To sum up, these are the two reasons why I will choose to get advice from older friends. For one thing, I could get lots of helpful software skills. For another thing, I could also broaden my vision greatly.