to understand the most important characteristics of a society one must study its major cities

In most of countries, major cities have highly developed in lots of fields, such as economy and politics. Therefore, I agree with the statement.

Indeed, some people states that there are many unique local cultures existing in minor cites of a country. If we do not choose to study these minor cities, we may not be able to understand these local cultures. For example, in Taiwan, the Tainan city is famous for many delicious foods, such as beef soups, and many foreign visitors will choose to visit city in order to taste these local foods. If these visitors had not chosen to study the Tainan city, they might have not been able to experience these local cultures.

However, if we study the major cities of a country, we may be able to understand the economic development of this country. For example, when I was an graduate, I studied in National Chiao Tung University which was located in the Hsinchu city. Hsinchu city was famous for its development of semiconductor industry, and many world-class companies located in this city, such as TSMC and Media Tek. TSMC was the largest semiconductor manufacturing enterprise in the entire world, and many first-rate companies were TSMC’s important clients, such as Apple and Nvidia. Therefore, I decided to understand how this company established its own business and its developmental history. Fortunately, when the engineers of TSMC came to our school to recruit new graduates, I could ask them many professional issues about TSMC. With their help, I could understand how this company continually improve its semiconductor technology and compete with other strong competitors, such as Samsung and Intel. By contrast, if I had chosen to study other minor cities in Taiwan, I might have not been able to understand the history of economic development in Hsinchu.

Moreover, if we study the major cities of a country, we can understand the development of politics of this country. For example, when I was an undergraduate, I attended an exchange program in the Berlin. In this exchange program, I wanted to visit many renowned historical sites, such as the Reichstag, in which the German legislation department located. I met lots of German people in this place, and they explained the history of this building to me, they told me how this building was occupied in 1945 by the red army and how Adolf Hitler delivered a speech in this place in 1933. With my German friends’ help, I could totally understand the entire history of Germany from the German Empire to the Third Reich. By contrast, if I had chosen to study an exchange program in other minor Germany cities, I might have not been able to learn the history of the rise and fall of Germany and meet these German friends.

To sum up, I agree with the statement. For one thing, we could understand the economical development of a country by studying its major cities. For another, we could also learn the political development of a country by visiting its major cities.