Many companies provide important products or services but also damage the environment. Some people believe that the best way to stop companies from harming the environment is to require them to pay a penalty, such as a higher or a large fine, when they cause environmental damage. Other people think there are better ways to stop the companies from harming the environment. Which view do you agree with and why?

Many big-scale companies contribute themselves to manufacturing lots of leading products. However, this will raise the question of whether the government should require these companies to pay a penalty when these enterprises are damaging the environment. I agree with the statement.

First of all, if the governments require these companies to pay a higher fine, it will place a heavy burden on these businesses. For example, TSMC was the top-notch semiconductor chips manufacturing company in the entire world. In the 2010s, TSMC earned over ten billion dollars each year, which accounted for a huge part of the GDP of Taiwan. However, TSMC also induced a good deal of extremely serious environmental issues, such as a handsome amount of waste water with heavy metal. As a result, in 2020, the local government asked TSMC to pay a large fine being up to one hundred million dollars because of its inappropriate disposal of sewage. In order not to encounter the same penalty in the future, TSMC decided to establish many advanced facilities to deal with its discharge of sewage. In contrast, if the government had not required TSMC to pay the higher fine, TSMC might have not copied with its environmental problems actively.

Second, if the governments demand the companies to pay a large fine, make the public to pay attention to the environmental issues caused by these enterprises. For example, Media Tek was the first-rate semiconductor chips designing company all over the world. In the 2000s, Media Tek gained a lot of profits per year, which was up to five billion dollars. However, Media Tek also produced many highly severe environmental problems, such as emitting a good deal of greenhouse gases, like carbon dioxide. Thus, the local government required Media Tek to pay a large fine, which was up to fifty million dollars. Moreover, because lots of media covered this news, many local people realized that this business had generated much harm to their environment. Thus, a good deal of people initiated a campaign to protest these negative behaviors caused by Media Tek. Finally, Media Tek agreed to gradually reduce its emission of greenhouse gases in the future. By contrast, if the government had not asked Media Tek to pay a huge fine, these local people might have not been aware of these environment issues produced by Media Tek.

To sum up, I agree with the statement that the best way to stop companies from harming the environment is to require them to pay a penalty. On one hand, the companies will be forced to address their negative influences on the environment to avoid to pay the high fine again. On the other hand, the local people will also pay attention to the environmental problems caused by these companies.