Many companies provide important products or services but also damage the environment Some people believe that the best way to stop companies from harming the environment is to require them to pay a penalty such as higher tax or a large fine when they cau

Without a shadow of a doubt, protecting the Earth from anthropogenic and natural threats has become the most important issue these days. An unanswered question in this area is how the government can cope with the environmental threats from companies. Despite some arguments asserting that specifying taxation for companies is the most effective way to discourage them from decreasing their adverse effects on the Earth, I believe otherwise, maintaining that this policy is not effective enough. In the following paragraphs, I will elaborate on my viewpoint through two compelling reasons.

The first exquisite point corroborating my stance on this subject is that companies would increase their products' and services' price, and people have to pay high tax on products. More specifically, due to the products and services of these companies directly and indirectly, affect individuals' lives, these firms are sure that even if the cost of their products is increased, people purchase their products. So the government’s policy not only persuades them to refine their production systems, but it also puts a significant burden on people. For example, my country's governments enacted taxation to mitigate the environmentally harmful process of industries. Food Corporations that play a pivotal role in polluting the air have continued their previous food production method without any positive changes.

The second reason to be mentioned is that the government would be reluctant to lose a significant amount of money earning by enforcing companies to pay high taxes. The government spends its extra-earned budgets on other expenditures like fortifying military power. Since the government must maintain its income, the government prefers that companies go on their harmful manufacturing process instead of cutting their products. Furthermore, the government would stop funding research investigating ways to decrease the adverse effect of industries on the environment. Therefore, obligating taxation for companies is not an effective way to control companies from contaminating the environment.

Reflecting upon the reasons mentioned above, one soon realizes that policymakers should employ better ways to manage important industries’ air and water pollution.