Many companies provide important products or services, but also damage the environment.

Some people believe that the best way to stop companies from harming the environment is to

require them to pay the penalty such as higher tax or a large fine when they cause

environmental damage. Other people think there are better ways to stop the companies from

harming the environment. Which view do you agree with and why?

Without a shadow of a doubt, a healthy environment is one of the critical factors of healthy living, which is subject to the various elements that lead to being in danger. Companies contain thousands of chemicals, many of which could contribute to adverse outcomes on the environment. An unanswered question in this area is whether penalizing these corporations could encourage them to correct themselves and their products or not. Despite some people who agree with this punishment, I strongly disagree with it. In the following paragraphs, I will illustrate my viewpoint.

First and foremost, considering penalties for those companies that harm the environment would gradually become normal. Usually, these payments are not so many that they could not pay it, or even the high taxes cannot prevent them from producing their commodities. In this case, a profound change might be effective, such as banning them and not allowing them to produce. By exerting this action, the whole company will be closed, and no more products will be released. According to some surveys, there have been around 15 companies near the Tehran province, Iran, that their process of providing merchandise was contained a chemical, which could kill that portion's vegetation. After proving this fact, all companies were closed by the government. This is why I think punishment cannot be functional, especially in the case of an emergency.

Furthermore, penalizing the companies in case of their harmful products to the environment cannot prevent people not buy their articles. They will pay some money as a penalty or high taxes, but ordinary people will never get aware of this issue. I believe the making culture and encouraging people and asking them not to buy such harmful goods, will be the solution to this problem. As a personal experience, I remember a company producing plastic bottles and selling them cheaply. People were so pleased to buy them because it paved the way for saving money for them. After some commercial advertisements on the TV and radio, all individuals heightened awareness of how harmful the product is for the environment because the decomposition of such plastics is needed millions of times. Thereby, they stop buying, and the company changed the raw materials and is using the healthier ones.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that penalizing and obligating companies to pay some money for compensating their productions harm to the environment is not the solution; for the reasons I have mentioned above.