A university recognized first-year students have poor study skills in its university. Some in the university believe the best way to address this is to ask all first-year students have to pass course on study skills. Others don't agree with this requirement. What is your opinion?

Without a shadow of a doubt, having strong study skills for first-year university students is one of the main reasons for achievement. However, some students are not very accomplished in the first year as required. An unanswered question in this area is whether students shall be obligated to take some mandatory courses on study skills or not. Despite some people who agree with this proposal, I strongly disagree with it. In the following paragraphs, I will illustrate my viewpoint.

First and foremost, experiencing a new environment for first-year students is probably the primary reason for their study skills weakness. For many, indeed, it is their first time away from home, so that that adaptation may take time. After adaptation, they will get used to the rules and restrictions of the university. By being aware of what is going on around them, they will start studying well. According to some neuroscientists, there are millions of neurons- the nerve cells- in the brain, which have different functions. A single neuron consists of three parts; dendrites, cell body, and axon. Dendrites are the antenna of the nervous system. They accumulate and receive some information from all around the inside and outside of a body and have connections with other cells as well. There are also some interneurons that are the amplifier or inhibitors of other nerve-cells. When a student gets placed in a new situation, the interneurons start to fortify the other cells to receive more data. But after a while, interneurons habituated to the environment and did not transfer more information about the new data. In this case, students will be accustomed to the new university, new instructors, new friends, and new courses and learn more functionally. This fact may illustrate why habituation, instead of sensitization, could increase the ability of learning and study skills.

Furthermore, by knowing their classmates and their own abilities in different courses, students will improve their studying. Attending various courses let them know which major and which field of study is more useful for them, and which of the classes is more fascinating. Besides, being in touch with their classmates creates a competition that could help students' study skills. For instance, when I was accepted to the Master’s study at the University of Tehran, Iran, I was not able to focus on my courses because everything was new and exciting. But a few months later, the circumstances were not so as impressive as the first days. Therefore, I could concentrate on my studies. This is why students need time to get used to their environment and find themselves and improve their studying.

In conclusion, having enough studying skills, of course, helps students thriving, but there is no need to get worried about the weakness of these skills in first-year students. As I mentioned above, I believe they will be gained after a while.