A university recognized first-year students have poor

study skills in its university. Some in the university believe the best way to address this is to ask all first year students have to pass course on study skills. Others don't agree with this requirement. What is your opinion?

One of the most controversial subjects in the education sector is learning how to learning studying skills in-depth. Learning strategies and methods are very important for students for every level of education, particularly for higher education in university. Some education administrators believe that students should learn learning methods by self-motivation without any mandatory course in the first year of college. On the other hand, others believe that it is crucial to learn learning methods through assigned courses by obligation in the first year of study in university. From my perspective, I firmly agree with the latter opinion since of two main reasons, and I will elaborate my viewpoint in the following paragraphs.

The most noteworthy point to mention regarding the learning subjects by mandatory course is that most students did not have enough self-motivation to learn study skills independently. In other words, some of them do not access sufficiently studying skills, or some of the students maybe they were believed that they have enough knowledge regarding this subject but not sufficient or, even worse, ineffective at the wrong direction. Therefore, the university directors should address this problem by introducing studying courses for the freshman by mandatory requirements to fulfill needs. To put in a more vivid picture, this course will lead the students to studying skills and materials during their education by hearts and efficient time which will prosper their education in student's career in the future.

The second reason worth pointing out is that higher education and university education may be not familar for some of the students and can not adapt themself learning subjects and enable handling them. Moreover, most courses in the student's chart are very overwhelming to handle without enough and modern knowledge regarding studying skills. As a result, It is better to meet and train through experienced tutors to learn appropriate skills to overcome heavy assignments and study courses. My example is compelling evidence to justify my standpoint. As a freshman student in college, I have encountered a bunch of learning materials such as different books for a course, massive notes in class, projects, and reports that I have not been prepared and trained during my college for such huge tasks to overcome. Therefore, my grades have fallen, and I could not compensate in any way during my education. Had I trained to study skills at the beginning of my education in university, I would be successful more than now in my education.

To draw a comprehensive conclusion, I strongly believe that learning materials by mandatory course would help students be well-prepared during education, particularly for un self-interested students to learn study skills in an effective and prosperous direction.