University recognized first year students have poor study skills in its university Some in the university believe the best way to address this is to ask all first year students have to pass course on study skills Others don t agree with this requirement W

First-year students are one of the most important community in all universities. Because a university makes its plans based on these students. So, it is pivotal to have students having sufficient skills in order to pursue their goals. One of the essential skills that students should possess is the study skill. Some believe its university's duty to make students pass relavant courses to strengthen students study skills and some other think it is not related to the university. I personally agrees with the first group and believe it could have much positive effect if students pass related courses on their study skills. There some reason supporting this idea, two of which will be explore in this essay.

First of all, these students are on the first step of their careers. They should start their academic life since the first year in a university. I believe they deserve to know the true way of studying. The more they know about the study skills, the more the chance of success will be. According a survey, which carried out in one of Tehran's university, almost 50 percent of students start to review what they passed in their first year after their third year in university. The experts believed that is because they do not know the proper way of studying, after couple of years they learn it by themselves and they feel that they need to go back and start from the begining. It is, of course, a huge waste of time. After that survey, the university started to teach study skill in the first semester, and the result was more than satisfactory.

Moreover, if university deprive students of learning this important skill, in fact, it would deprive itself of having knowledgable students. In this competitive worlds, universities are like rivals who want to push back the frontiers of science. And inevitably students play pivotal roles for this purpose. By neglecting having a study skill classes the university not only harm students but also lose the competition to other universities. Just a short glance to universities achievements during last decade shows us that the universitis, which had a proper schedule to teach students these skills, are the most prosperous ones.

In conclusion, I suggest that all universities add these skill-learning courses to their schedule for first-year students. by doing this, they will benefit both students and themselves and consequently help the society to have a better future.