University recognized first year students have poor study skills in its university Some in the university believe the best way to address this is to ask all first year students have to pass course on study skills Others don t agree with this requirement W

Efficient and scientific learning skills undoubtedly contribute to splendid academic achievement. Based on my experience, I partly agree that it is critical for the university to require students to take learning skills courses. But in some circumstances, make the course mandatory may become unreasonable for a group of students. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in my essay.

First of all, for most students, proper learning skills on study performance is apparently positive. The learning skills course is a way for students to understand the knowledge structure in the college, which is significantly different from the content in high schools. Therefore, learning skill courses can be the most efficient method for students to get used to university study effortlessly, and it is especially effective for international students who need to develop a different educational style. My personal experience is a compelling illustration of this. I had my entire secondary education in China but eventually chose to attend my university education in Japan and experienced an immensely suffering first semester because of the difference in educational preferences. I was unable to familiarise the teaching style and found it struggling to develop different formate of writing. I think it is fair to say that it would be much easier for me to overcome the hardships if there was a course for me to update some learning skills.

On the contrary, some people may feel that a mandatory learning skills course may interrupt their study plans. There is no universal method of study that can grant the best efficiency for all students, and the students who have already developed their unique styles of study can only find the course unnecessary and create an extra burden. One of my high school classmates was a victim of the mandatory learning skills course. During her first college year, she complained about the learning skills courses in her university almost every time on the telephone because there was no difficulty for her to follow everything up at the start of the university. However, the university still required her to take the learning skills courses for “adaptive purpose”. Consequently, She did not acquire any helpful suggestions from the course in helping “adaptation” but only a waste of time.

In conclusion, I am basically of the opinion that requiring all first-year students to study learning skills is beneficial.

To sum up, I am of the opinion that the learning skills course can be beneficial for most students, but not all of them. It is fair to say that the course is a shortcut for the majority to adapt to university study, but making it compulsory inevitably hurt a group of students who prefer to conclude in their way.