A university recognized first-year students have poor study skills in its university. Some in the university believe the best way to address this is to ask all first-year students have to pass course on study skills. Others don't agree with this requirement. What is your opinion?

Nowadays, The demand to know is more than anytime in the history of human beings. Therefore, more and more people are using efficient methods of learning, many of which require learning study skills. One of the issues regarding these skills is whether it should be mandatory for all junior students to study them or not. While some people believe it is best if students learn such skills beforehand, others disagree. Both of them have their advantages and disadvantages. However, I subscribe to the idea of requiring all students to pass such a course. I have several reasons to support my argument, among which reducing stress and expanding social circle are more considerate.

The first and foremost reason is that a course that teaches us how to study reduces fear of study itself. Consequently, it provides us a more positive attitude toward every other course, whether taught formally in university or informally in business, such as weakly workshops. This enables us to comprehend everything in the rest of life better. A great woman, whose name eludes me at the moment, once said, "Knowledge is power. Use it to your benefit." I remember lacking study skills when I was in my second year of university. Everyone seemed to understand the lectures better. However, I was pretty wrong not to see that comprehension skills are to be acquired. Where is the world is a better place to learn such skills?

Second, incorporating low-demand courses such as study skills can help students get to know their peers better, resulting in expansion of their social circle, making them more suitable for getting hired afterward. Moreover, since anyone is required to pass the course, all the students would be starting at the same level, and no one would experience high pressure. In addition, time management skills, which are definitely a part of the curriculum, will be improved. Thus, if students use this very skill appropriately, they would be able to spend much more time with their family, which again tightens the family bonds.

In summary, with all this taken into account, I do believe that incorporating a course which will improve students' study skills is much more critical on the grounds that it would lead to establishing valuable connections, and, more importantly, it can reduce the stress of newcomers who do not know much about university. Lastly, I think if universities take these matters more seriously, it will benefit us all.