Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better to stop reading

and listening the news for a period of a few days or weeks.

Without a shadow of a doubt, people take the news for granted in which they get heightened awareness about all around the world. An unanswered question in this area is whether not following the news for a while is better or not. In contrast to some individuals who agree that the news should not be followed for a few days or weeks, I am of the opinion that listening or reading the news is one of this era’s necessities. In the following paragraphs, I will illustrate my viewpoint.

First and foremost, reading news helps people be aware of not merely the different situations of their country, but the whole planet. Nowadays, everything has changed due to the COVID-19 pandemic; commercialism, science, medicine, industry, and politics are more impressionable and vulnerable than before. In this case that people are suffering and encounter lots of difficulties, the only way of being alarmed about this condition is to follow following the news because their business will be influenced by all the changes. As a personal experience, I have a friend whose father is a businessman. He is one of the most essential and influential persons in the market. He has, indeed, a large branch of a famous fabric store. My friend was recently telling me that her father has experienced a rapid slump in his work because of the quarantine, and this was, however, due not to following the news. Apparently, the cost of some commodities was increased, and he knew nothing about this news. Therefore, he was still selling the goods with the previous costs, and after a while, he became understood that he has done the wrong thing. The new circumstance, which is created after that, is rough, and they are experiencing its adverse outcomes. This may show how awareness of happening things and following the news could be beneficial.

Secondly, nowadays, being in touch with news is more in line with the rapid progression of science and technology. With the arrival and development of the internet, reading or listening to the news in leisure time, especially, could make people interested in pursuing news in order to achieve their goals. A key assertion advanced by those in favor of reading news is that it is a way to learn more somehow. For instance, there are many courses, which are available online on the internet. The update or any information about these courses may assert in some specific news channels or sites. So, people with varied searches in these courses could develop their knowledge. This is why I believe the news is one of the staples of everyday life that is often overlooked.

In conclusion, as I mentioned above, I intensely disagree with the idea that people should stop pursuing news for a while, because news has a critical role in people’s life process and it is one the most effective ways of increasing information in many fields.