Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? The government should spend more money on improving access to the Internet than on public transportation.

Without a shadow of a doubt, having appropriate public transportation and an improved internet are two crucial principles of modern life. Governments spend a huge sum of money on improving both public transportation and the Internet. An unanswered question in this area is whether spending money for which one is better. I, in contrast to some people, who agree with the improvement of a public transportation, believe that the government should spend more money to improve the Internet. I feel this way for some reason. In the following paragraphs, I will illustrate my viewpoint.

First and foremost, the invention of the Internet has changed life for the better one, and the improvement of the Internet would also increase the welfare of life. In the modern era, in which people could stay home and do their tasks via the Internet, it is important to mention that, consequently, it could decrease the traffic in the city. Global warming, which is caused by the increase of greenhouse gases in the atmosphere, is mostly due to the intense use of vehicles. Therefore, the government could easily decrease the condense of traffic by improving of the Internet and remote-works. This is why I think the Internet is more important than public transportation.

Second, if people could have access to the Internet better than before, they can stay home and enjoy their life, meanwhile their working at home. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. In the pandemic situation, due to the COVID-19, everybody has obligated to stay home and be safe. In this regard, our city government has stated that “we are going to improve the internet, and encourage people to stay home and perform their works at home using the internet.” Therefore, when people realized that they could access an improved internet, they stayed home and adhered to the rules of the pandemic. In the quarantine, I figured out that by being home and working in my home office, I can save more time, which could be used for entertainment, such as; reading books, watching movies, and so on. On the other hand, the online-shipping let me not go out, be in a traffic jam, not use my car, not spend money on petrol, and, consequently, save more time. This example could illustrate the importance of the improvement of the Internet.

In conclusion, I strongly agree with the idea of spending much more money on improving the Internet rather than public transportation. This is because it directly facilitates people’s lives and indirectly influences global warming, and because of saving more time for individuals.