The government should focus more on improving the Internet or public transportation system?

Both the Internet and public transportation system are necessary for our daily life in modern-day society. This will raise the question of whether the government should focus more on improving the Internet or public transportation system. In my opinion, I hold the belief that the government should spend more valuable resources on constructing public transportation system.

First of all, the government should focus more on improving the public transportation system because this kind of construction can be only provided by the government rather than a private company. Take Formosa Freeway, for instance, this highway spanned a vast area of Taiwan and faced plenty of practical problems. Therefore, this construction needed many government departments to coordinate each detail, such as the transportation agency and economic agency. For one thing, the traffic agency would need to handle the engineering issues, such as construction materials or traffic routes design. For another thing, the economic agency would evaluate the entire budget of this public transportation system carefully to utilize the budget efficiently. By contrast, there will be no other institutes that could carry out this complex project completely except the government. Moreover, many private companies could provide customers with the perfect Internet service, such as Taiwanese Telecommunications and AT&T.

Second, the government should focus more on improving the public transportation system because the public transportation system is a daily basic need for the public. For example, Taipei city is a busy and crowded place, and we will spend more money on taking taxis or uber. Therefore, many people will rather choose to take the Taipei MRT as an economical means for the commute. Before Taipei MRT was constructed, lots of people could only drive a car to commute, and they would also be upset about the daily traffic jam in Taipei every morning. As a result, the Taipei government chose to establish a public transportation system in 1995 to solve this traffic issue. Nowadays, everyone in Taipei could enjoy the convenience brought by Taipei MRT instead of being bothered by a severe traffic jam. In contrast, the Internet isn’t the most urgent requirement for the public. If we lose the Internet in a short period, we will just receive a smaller negative effect than losing the public transportation system.

To sum up, these are the two reasons why I take the position that the government should focus more on the public transportation system. On one hand, the public transportation system could only be always provided by the government. On the other hand, the public transportation system is a daily basic need for most people.