Recently, we signed a contract with the Fly-Away Pest Control Company to provide pest control services at our fast-food warehouse in Palm City, but last month we discovered that over $20,000 worth of food there had been destroyed by pest damage. Meanwhile, the Buzzoff Pest Control Company, which we have used for many years, continued to service our warehouse in Wintervale, and last month only $10,000 worth of the food stored there had been destroyed by pest damage. Even though the price charged by Fly-Away is considerably lower, our best means of saving money is to return to Buzzoff for all our pest control services.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author assumes that due to destroyed food, the Fly-Away pest Control Company’s service is terrible. Then, changing the service company from the Fly-Away pest Control Company to Buzzoff Pest Control Company is best choice to save money. However, since there are lacking many pieces of evidence, the author’s recommendation is unreasonable.

To begin with, the author has to provide more pieces of evidence to support the relationship between bad pest control service of the Fly-Away Pest Control Company and destroyed food. It’s is possible that other factors contributed destroyed food. For instance, destroyed food might have resulted from natural disaster; Since Palm City has irregular pest disaster per ten years, the destroyed food in Palm City last month is just an accident. Lacking evidence that links bad pest control service of the Fly-Away Pest Control Company and destroyed food, it is presumptuous to suggest that bad pest control service was responsible for destroyed food.

Further, the author needs to provide evidence to prove the analogy between warehouse in Wintervale and warehouse in Palm City. However, it is entirely possible that the condition of warehouse in Wintervale and warehouse in Palm City is totally different. First of all, since Wintervale has more stable environmental condition, Wintervale has less pest than Palm City. Then, Wintervale can use less pest control service than Palm City to reach a better affection. In short, without accounting for such possible differences between Palm City and Wintervale, the arguer cannot prove that the pest control service of the Buzzoff Pest Control Company is better than the pest control service of the Fly-Away Pest Control Company.

Even if the condition of Palm City and Wintervale is the same, further evidence is needed to prove that the best means of saving money is to return to the pest control service of Buzzoff. Saving money is a factor relating to not only service feed but also performance. It is entirely possible that Buzzoff Pest Control Company’s service fee is higher than Fly-Away Pest Control Company’s service fee, and the performance of Buzzoff is lower than Fly-Away; Thus, choosing Buzzoff Pest Control Company is not a good choice for saving money.

To sum up, due to lacking many pieces of evidence, the author’s recommendation is unwarranted. If author can offer the evidence that destroyed food does not resulted from other factors, Palm City’s condition is equal to Wintervale’s condition, and proving choosing Buzzoff company is the best method to save money, the recommendation will be more reasonable.