Claim: The surest indicator of a great nation must be the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.

Reason: Great achievements by a nation's rulers, artists, or scientists will ensure a good life for the majority of that nation's people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

A book cannot be judged by it's cover, very precisely counters the reason given in the prompt. A nation cannot be judged by the achievemnets of some of It's people excelling in various crafts. The nation must be judged as a whole, I disagree with the given claim and reason in the prompt for the follwoing reasons stated below.

The porsperity of the nation cannot be judged by achievemnets of some people belonging to the nation, this gives a belies the nation infront of the viewers. For instance, germany was ruled by Hitler in the past and his reign of terror made his egregious in the eyes of people all around the world. Similiarly cannot be said about the germans who lived and are living to this day, that would be unfair to judge them based on actions of one person. Another case can be asumed that once a ruler who governed over a vast land was very generous, but due to natural calamities and catastrophes the nation fell, in this case the ruler was generous but still the poeple didn't get a prosperous and good life. Similarly, can be said about Guru Rabindranath Tagore, he is renowned as one of the best artist and poet in the world, this doesn't mean everyone in his nation is educated, and living a prosperous life. So, It is impossible to generalize a nation's population's life style based on achievemnets of few people.

Achievements by a certain individual do not show the properity and greatness of a nation, a nation may have the best painters, singers, dancers, athletes, leaders in the world, but it cannot still guarantee greatness of the nation. As, a nation is the aggregate of all the individuals and their qualtites , life styles and culture. For instanace, the cricket team of nation 'X' may win the world cup every year, this doesn't mean X is the great nation. It simple means X's national team is the best in the competition at that particular time. Similarly, can be said about all the other fields.

Though in some cases, A nation maybe identified by the achievements of it's leaders and their actions. For example, Mahatme Gandhi led the Apartheid movement in South Africa and helped fight racial discrimintaion all around the globe while preaching peace and sacrifice. This made him known all around the world and he is still respected in every nation around the globle. This made the name of his Nation known all around the world, but still the nation and it's people faced supression from the british and didn't lead a happy life till 1947. This portrayed the greatness of the nation by the actions of it's leader but still the people of the nation didn't lead a good lifestyle.

Hence, the given claim maybe true in some cases, and the reason may support it in some, but for majority of the cases discussed here- the claim and reason hold no true value. They only show a very small part of the large picture and judge the book by it's face value.