Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Scientific researches lead to new discoveries, or consolidate an existing theory about something. In these cases the result and all others scnerios are known and clear but it some cases the scope may be blurred or outcome may come with consequences which may even be fatal. The following prompt indicates the government shall not fund any researches which don't have a clear scope or may have catastrophic side effects. I agree with the the given prompt for the following reasons listed below.

If the scope if opaque or the stakes of the consequences are high one should consider whether to carry on with the project or not, and seek the government aid or not. The government should deny any such requests where, the side effects bring any jeopardy to the researcher, public or environment etc. For instance, if one want to find out what happens when waste is dumped in open parks and ponds and conducts a research in a public park even with permission, he may harm the enviroment even when he removes all the waste after the experiment is completed, as it may kill the fauna and flora of the park and pond. Conducting such a experiment in a simulated environment is also not favourable as still wildlife will be harmed when exposed to effects of waste dumping. So, such experiments should not be backed by the government.

The experiment which don't have a clear outcomes may lead to undesirable outcomes which may be harmful to the experimenter. for instacne, when developing new technologies which work on radicoactive power sources one may be exposed to a lot of radiation harming himself and also without clear understading and uclear scope of the reseach one can put a lot of lives and danger. He may have the desire to bring a positive change but when the results are clouded it may cause more harm while not bering any fruit. So, it can do more harm than good : for this reason govenrment shouln't fund such researches in dangerous fields where the result is clouded.

Funding scientific reseached whithout clear conclusions can incur heavy losses for the government, a typical experiment may last for 6 months to several years. The longer and more compliacted it becomes the more money the government needs to pour onto the growing sapling. Which just may fail before it bears any fruit or may bear poisionous fruits as explained in earlier points. One cannot be ceratin about a result and there is always a chance of failing a scientific experiment. But failures lead to learning and evelopment of new ideas and researches. So funding such reseaches, becomes a vicious as well as virtuous cycle which requires loads of money, the government may want to base it's decision onto the funds it has availble for such work.

Not all resarches lead to results but some lead to learning and for this purspose the government may fund such projects if it has the available funds. However the points stated above strengethen the point why governemt should think about it's decision to do so. With this I rest my case on the following prompt.