The following appeared in a memorandum from the owner of Movies Galore, a chain of movie-rental stores.

"In order to stop the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore's ten movie-rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. By implementing similar changes in our other stores, Movies Galore can increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The owner of the chain Movies Galore talks about the losses being inucured by the them in recent times, he belives that he can maximize the profit by reducing the operating costs, reducing the time the stores are open and changing what is available to rent. Thes methods are backed up by the following unstated arguments which if proved unwarrrented may jeopardise the goals of the owner.

The author talks about reducing operating costs of the store, which include wages of the employees, the cost of acquiring inventory etc. The author fails to understand that this may have an opposite effect than what he intends. For instance, when he reduces the wages of the employees working in the store front they may not be inclined to work like they used to before and may not be motivated enough to market the movies nicely to the customers, they may act lazy in helping the customers and may not give nice recommenadtions to the poeple visiting. Which will lead to reduced reutrning customer, further lowering the profits of the store. The author assumes that if he reduces the wages of employees he would pocket that as profit, which is not true and may just further decline the sales and margins of the store.

The author talks about reducing the time for which the store remains open, he sites the exmaple of the Marston store in downtown which changed it's closing time from 6:00 P.M. to 9:00P.M. and reducing it's stock, by removing movies older than 5 years. He assumes that all the ten stores in the chain are alike in all aspects and what may have worked for one will work for all others. The store in downtown may have a young demographic compared to one, say in uptown where the demographic is old. Here, people may wnat to rent older movies also and not just the new ones like the young populations in downtown. So, it cannot be made sure that removing old movies from the store will ensure profits to rise, it may plummet in some cases and sotres like in places with a older demographic, as old people would like to see movies of their era.

It is asumed that if the stores close early the can increase profit, but all stores are not alike and not situated in the same area. In some stores the peak time of sales may ne between 8 and 9 in these cases the stores may incur heavy loses and the plan may backfire. It is asumed that all loses have similar peak hour of sales and rentals, which may not be true. If proved untrue it weakens the assumptions stated in the prompt.

The following three points mentioned above if proved, weaken the methods the author plans to take and show the flaws of the assumptions mentioned in the prompt. The author need to deliberate more over what needs to be done.