There is little justification for society to make extraordinary efforts — especially at a great cost in money and jobs — to save endangered animal or plant species.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

According to my point of view, society should take steps needed to preserve flora and fauna species which have been endangered by rapid urbanization and industrialization. I diagree with the given assertion. Plants and animals which have been endangered by human activity should be protected from further damage by not harming their natural habitat by extrinsic human activities. All beings help in maintaining the natural order of the environment, disbalancing this natural balance can lead to a lot of problems. The following points will help to elaborate my position further.

If indigenous species are harmed by human activites and endangered to a lot number it can lead to an unbalanced food chain in the surrounding biome. For instance, if due to urbanization a large number of electricity and communication poles are installed in an area at the expense of deforestration, it can lead to death of birds by electric shocks and their endangerment. Many more such cases can be formulated which show how our greed has led to extinction of many species and endangered many others. As responsible people we should own up to our mistakes and work on fixing it. Due to ever growing population of humans requirement of space is always demanded but this should be at the expense of indigenous species.

Loss of species can cause chaos as it breaks the food chain making some species to prosper in population and cause potential harm to a biome.For example, A decrease in number of birds will lead to increase in number of insects which will be become a problem to humans residing in the area as insects may carry diseases which can be transmitted to humans. For, which further extermination will be required. This will completely wipe out all natural species of the biome. From ths example we see how low number of a single block of food chain member can disturb the full chain. So, protecting and endangred specie becomes essentially important as it can lead to perishing of all other connected species, leading to catastrophe in a local biome.

Protecting species is a humanitarian cause and should not require any justification in the first place, all species have the right to live on this planet and it is not only for humans. As the smartest being of the planet we should understand this fact and respect all the other species. The cost involved in this may be huge but no cost if more than life of a living thing or a specie. At the end what matters is life and not the monitary value associated with it.

These following points show how it is important to protect all the species of the planet and preserve our rich environment. We should respect and protect all the species of our local biomes and not wait to endanger them and then start to work to save them, which can lead to unalances situation and harm to our own race.