The following appeared in a memo from the business manager of a chain of cheese stores located throughout the United States.

"For many years all the stores in our chain have stocked a wide variety of both domestic and imported cheeses. Last year, however, all of the five best-selling cheeses at our newest store were domestic cheddar cheeses from Wisconsin. Furthermore, a recent survey by Cheeses of the World magazine indicates an increasing preference for domestic cheeses among its subscribers. Since our company can reduce expenses by limiting inventory, the best way to improve profits in all of our stores is to discontinue stocking many of our varieties of imported cheese and concentrate primarily on domestic cheeses."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the memo of the chain of cheese stores located around the United States, the author talks about how the store can maximize profits by better inventory management, this is being done based on articles from the World Magazine and the sales of the newest stores of the chain. However, these are based on some unstated asuumptions by the author and the following reason show why they are flawed.

The author tells us how last year the best selling cheese in their newest store was a domestic produce from Winsconsin. This does not give the clear picture of the overall saled among all the states of the country, the place where the new store is located may have people who like the domestic produce and so they may but it more, which may be different for various stores depending on their location. It should also be noted that what took place last year in the domestic store sales may no happen this year as no fixed trend can be observed in a period of just a year. Last year domestic sales may be high due to unavaibliltiy of ceartain imported cheese and the closest to it maybe cheddar from Winsconsin.

It is should be taken into consideration that the assumption that people prefer domestic cheese than imported, is based on a survey from a magazine. It may be that the magazine's customers like the domestic cheese and but it as it has receipes to make with the domestic cheese, and people who like imported cheese may not be subscribed to any magazine or a different one which has recepies for imported cheese. So based on a single magazine no assumption can be made about the prefernce of people and what they like. Also, the subscribers of the magazine may represent a very small population the potential customers. So, it does not give a clear picture of the case.

The author say to limit the inventory of imported cheese so they can maximize profits and even stop the import as they think the demand is not present. THis may also backfire as no clear indication of the demand of cheese and it is assumed by the author that all the stores are alike like the new store, this may result downfall of sales as most stores may have demand of imported cheese only and drive the saled down as they plummet.

The following unstated assumptions need to be considered before taking any action as they severly weaken the arguements given by the author and need to be taken care of, a proper study of the saled across the sotres should be done to asses the real demand to get a clearer picture of the situatuion.