The following appeared in a memo at XYZ company.

"When XYZ lays off employees, it pays Delany Personnel Firm to offer those employees assistance in creating résumés and developing interviewing skills, if they so desire. Laid-off employees have benefited greatly from Delany's services: last year those who used Delany found jobs much more quickly than did those who did not. Recently, it has been proposed that we use the less expensive Walsh Personnel Firm in place of Delany. This would be a mistake because eight years ago, when XYZ was using Walsh, only half of the workers we laid off at that time found jobs within a year. Moreover, Delany is clearly superior, as evidenced by its bigger staff and larger number of branch offices. After all, last year Delany's clients took an average of six months to find jobs, whereas Walsh's clients took nine."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author in the given prompt states how XYZ should not tie up with Walsh and continue with Delany for providing laid off employees better chance to get newer jobs, he gives statistics of the previous years and shows how he beleives that Delany Personnel Firm has a bigger reach and effectiveness than Walsh. The following arguements will show how the unstated arguements considered by the author if proofed will make the claims unwarrented.

The author shows how the employees laid off last year, with the help of Delany Personnel Firm were able to find jobs much quickly than those who did not use the firm. This statement is does not give a clear picture of the jobs which the laid off employs got, the may be menial jobs at a local firm or may be low paying jobs and people who didn't get a job may not want to do such jobs. It can also be stated that what happened last year may be a mere coincident and the coming year none of the people from firm find a job and the non firm employees do get a job. So, it cannot be assumed that if one year in the past more people got a job from Delany Personnel Firm it will reciprocate it every year. It is a question of chance and opportuninty. So, even using a cheaper firm will also not hinder chances of people who get the right chance and are capable of capturing it.

Using a cheaper firm like Walsh may not be a mistake as people get jobs based on their skills and the firm just provides them with openings and other small helps. If the company wants to save some coins in this, they may. Walsh Personnel Firm should not be disposed on what happened between it and XYZ laid off employee eight years ago, as a lot has changed. It may be that eight years ago it was a time of financial crisis and so only half the fired employess got a job using Walsh Personnel firm. The market now may have optimum jobs for all fired employees.

The author finally compares the two firms and thinks they should not switch to Walsh as Delany has more employees, more number of branch offices. This can however be deceving, it may be that Delany has a lot of branch offices but all them are spread over a small area and cover the same job openings. While covering very few openings. Walsh may have lesser offices but may cover a larger area and not overlap the openings in an area by multiple offices reporting them. So in this way Walsh may cover more jobs than Delany and be more helpful for employees trying to find jobs after layoff. Also, it may client of Delany to find jobs quicker and Walsh clients to take longer times, but this can change anytime as the market fluctuates, it also may be that Delany clients get jobs for name sake and don't really like the jobs they are doing while Walsh employees wait for the jobs they really want do, thus taking a longer time.

The following arguements provided if proofed true, weaken the claims made by the author and weaken his case of not switching to Walsh Personnel firm from Delany Personnel Firm.