Some people believe that scientific discoveries have given us a much better understanding of the world around us. Others believe that science has revealed to us that the world is infinitely more complex than we ever realized.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Scientific discoveries have enabled us to understand many phenomena which were, unknown prior to humankind. Such discoveries have changed the general perspective of people towards natural things and things that can be achieved in the near future. So, i feel that scientific discoveries have given us a much better understanding of the world around us. The following points will help in establishing my position.

From primodial times we have had the alacrity to know the reason behind everything and all phenomena that occur around us, to satisfy this urge humans have gone to great extend to find reasons. This has led to scientific discovereies that have changed and challenged the traditional beleives. For instance, the debate over flat earth versus sphere earth theory is one traditional belief that was corrected and led to the finding that Earth is a sphere revolving around the sun. This also helped in clearing the misconception that one would fall off the surface if he traveled to the edges. So, literallty scientific discoveries have given us a better undertsanding of the world or the planet we live on. Many such discoveries like gravity, wind rotation patterns, meterological and weather prediciton stations and patterns have let us know about all that happens around us.

Getting a better understanding leads to even more discoveries and even clear outlook of the world. Creating a virtuous cycle of knowledge, thought and theory. For example, the discovery of magnifying glass to observe small particles gave the urge to further magnify the sample. Which lead to creation on simple microscope and giving further information about simpe cells and materials. This gave idea of creation of more complex microscopes like TEMs and SEMs which can now be used to study nanoparticles. These particles can then be used for understanding micro and nano scale effects which and invisible to naked eye. Creating this virtuous cycle for better understading can only be attributed to sicentific discoveries which led to creation and urge for knowing even more.

The world around us can is vast and very difficult to study altogetherm but as technological researches advance, the closer we come to each other and the better understadning we have of different parts of the world. Exposing us to different cultures and dialects and many other things unknown earlier. The cultutral geospace created virtually by the advancing research in scientifc fields, is nothing but amazing, which leaves one awstruck. How he can sit at home and enjoy things on the anitpole to his location. This is all thanks to advancements in technological reseraches. This has led to not only better scientific understanding of the world but also better cultuaral and social understadning.

One may argue that this has also created more confusion and made scientific understading of prior know facts more complex, but this is not completely true. Only these complex idea give one the vigor to research further and find solutions to eariler enigmatic problems. As, the development to nano scale prior unknown was developed, now further development is taking place to scale even smaller, which can have great results and applications in all fields. So, it is important one undertsands how important is the role of scientitifc discoveries for development and understadning of our world.