Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

Corporations should not be considered only as a money printing tool, rather be seen as instituions which help in development of the socitey and location they are based in. I agree with the claim that corporations should focus on devlopment and well being of the society and environment. As, they generally use locals as the workforce for their success, they use nearby readily available natural resources as raw products, and not caringfor this will only lead to thier doom. The following points will further help appropriate my view on the subject at hand.

Usually corporations set up where they can find cheap labor force for production of goods. The labor force generally lives within few miles of the manufacturing plant of the corporation, for examples if the industry uses water cooling its machines from the local pond, which also acts as primary source of water for the work force and doesn't judiciously manage it. Soon, the water table of the area will deplete leading migration of work force to areas where they can sustain better. If the industry exploits such legal loopholes to maximize profits the main victim will be its own workforce. Which will lead to lack of work force and poor work ethic. Instead, the industry should help preserve the pond by and install water recycling machines to reduce water usage and also do welfare work like installation of wells in the area.

Corporation often try to maximize profits by exploiting resources recklessly, producing good more than needed which sit in warehouses for years and get wasted. This can lead to depletion of natural resources in areas, to avoid this corporations should strictly practice sustainable devlopment, that is use resources in such a way that needs of future generation are not impaired. Corporations should for instance if they use wood as raw material, plant a new tree and look after it, for every chopped tree. This enables balance of resources without harming future needs, and also checks that the indigenous fauna and flora are conserved. In this way, corporations have a better chance of sustaining in the fututre if they are based on exhautible resources as raw product.

Laws for corporation are set at the least possible level, meaning they can dump or move out by products that are not harmful to humans. These laws don't have considerations for other iving beings and can lead to adverse phenomena. Companies dumping fly ash into the air, don't harm humans in any way, but this ash may settle on top soil making is impervious to rain seepage, or makie the surrounding soil more alkaline leading to perishing of local species and gradual increase in local temperature, changing the climate of the region over a period of time. These by prodcuts which are not harmful to humans but to environment should also be monitored by industries abd laws for welfare for society.

Such, problems associated with the corporations, which maximize profit by using legal loopholes exits very much in our world. Proper laws and their execution is still needed to enable proper sustainable devlopment and secure the future while supplying present needs. Corporations should understand their part in this project to sustain throughout.