The following appeared in a health newsletter.

"A ten-year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago, approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets, whereas today that number is nearly 80 percent. Another study, however, suggests that during the same ten-year period, the number of bicycle-related accidents has increased 200 percent. These results demonstrate that bicyclists feel safer because they are wearing helmets, and they take more risks as a result. Thus, to reduce the number of serious injuries from bicycle accidents, the government should concentrate more on educating people about bicycle safety and less on encouraging or requiring bicyclists to wear helmets."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

35per ago != 80 of now, unclear type of accident,

The author of the newsletter belives that if they government focuses more on educating people on bicycle saftey rather than promoting wearing of helmets then the number of accidents will decrease. This however is a flawed assumption, the following points will help elaborate the unwarranted claims made by the author and their implications.

The author compares how eariler 35 percent of cyclist wore helmets and not the number is upto 80 percent and also that the number of accidents has increased by 200 percent. These are separate claims from different studies of the same period, it hasn't been mentioned whether the studies were conducted on the same group of people or the in the same city or country, one study may be done on cyclist of london and other on cylist of tokyo. He makes an general assumption that the studies were based on the same sample space or data. Also, a lot can happen in a time frame of ten years. The number of accidents may have risen as the number of riders decreased and swithced to other means of travel. Which means less accidents took place. This fataly impairs how the reader perceives this letter.

The increase in number of accidents has been related to wearing of helmets and carelessness of the rider, but no data has been used to backup this claim by the author. The accidents can be due to increased traffic of motor vechiles and high speed motor cars unable to stop as fast as a cyclist can on a red ligth, tail ending the rider. Whereas ten years ago the number of cars on the road were significantly less so the number of accidents having cycles was also less. Which brings us to the point that, no clear mention of the parties in the accident has been stated in the passage. Which can be interpreted as cycle-cycle or cycle-car collosions making the comparison abstruse.

The author has a major flaw of understading, he assumes wearing helmets can prevent accidents which isn't true. This statement can't be proved by the statistical date the author is trying to provide the readers with. Helmet is just used as protection equipment to prevent fatal injuries to the head and in no way does it prevent accidents. So, asking the government to less emphazise on this would mean to compromise public safety and hinder his very own position on the matter.

The following points impair the authors clams and severly weaken the viability of the author to ask for better education on safety, which is important to prevent accidents. But, it cannot be proved that accidents are caused by promoton of wearing helments. They are done to promote safety by the government and should be conitnued in my opinion.