Any leader who is quickly and easily influenced by shifts in popular opinion will accomplish little.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

A leader has a vision he wants to accomplish and the seeks the support of people to do so, not all people have the same vision and some even oppose his vision. So, true leaders should not be affected by every statement that is made against them or every comments he listens from people, opoosiition or media. The above statement is tells us this very idea that leaders shall not easily budge from their stands and I strongly adhere to the idealogy, the following reasons support my analogy on the topic presented.

Leaders need to present a mandate before the elections and the opinions of the masses are framed acoording to the manifestos and madates presented by these leaders. Based on these manifestos people judge who they are willing to elect and would serve for the development. If a leader later shifts from his ideals after being elected due to pressure from opposition and media it will create distrust among the majority and tarnish the reputation of the leader. For instance, A leader may preach about banning alcohol from his state in his mandate and the majority supported him in his endevaour and he gets elected and later due to castigation from media and opposition,it may prevent him from doing so as the alcohol sales in the state are a major source of taxtation as the state is famous for it wines and breweries. This shows how the leader changes his opinion due to little critisicm.

A fickle minded person can never be a true leader, he may be influenced by everything he hears and reads. Doing so will make it impossible to take decisions in his own accord. For example, if ia fickle minded ruler like Allaudhin Tuglaq is elected he may not be able to take decision, as Tuglaq changed his capital twice during his rule shifiting all his assests over long distances and then coming back to his orignal capital and being confounded about every decision he every took. He moved his capital only as people said the new capital will be more beautiful than the previous one. History is evidence that no fickle minded leader has ever been sucessful as they can't have a crystal clear judgement.

Shifts in popular opinions can curb the masses but should not affect the leader or ruler. Doing this will only make him look weak in the eyes of the public and torment his stature in the society. This will lead to the downfall of his whole hegemony. Some people may argue that leader should listen to the popular opinion once in while to see hwat the poeple really want, but this can then become a problem as he may listen to the opinion and it may not be lawfully correct to ensue it or it may start as wave where the poeple demand him to listen to them everytime making the functioning sluggish. The above points show how I support the given arguement and conclude that leaders should not be influenced by popular opiniond and work on their own accord in publice welfare.