The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Modern day inventions have made our quotidian task easier and mundane lives entertaining, the impact of these inventions in current times is immeasurable. On the contrary, it can also be argued that these luxuries have slowed the pace of evolutions and development of the human race, by making people torpor and phlegmatic. To say that developing new luxuries has slowed and paused growth of a race is ironic, when these luxuries are result of great creative minds. These inventions help people develop: those who make them develop critical thinking, and ones who use these develop skills of using them and can often provide services and appease others, for social development of the society.

The gifts of modern contemporary world are many, which are more of a need than wants of an individual. Waking up in the morning by ringing alarm clocks, having a warm shower, by the virtue of electric heaters, commuting to work on a motor vehicle, working on modern day computers, and coming back home to talk to your loved ones over mobile phones has made our life more comfortable and productive. Ones these simple day to day tasks took hours, which now take minutes. There is no reason to say that these prevent growth of strong individuals or hinder growth of truly strong people.

Due to evolution of the society most luxuries are slowing becoming needs due to their effectiveness and ease of use, this helps making an individual self reliant in many ways. Earlier for a relaxing massage after a stressful day, one had to drive or walk to the massage parlor. Now we have gadgets which can provide a massage at the comfort of your house. Many other such services and products have made individuals truly independent. These are luxuries for some but a need for others, no clear distinctions can be made about the needs and luxuries in today's world. Need of one maybe luxury of another and vice versa.

Coming to the topic of developing society and making people independent, a truly independent person in one who can survive not alone but even between a crowd where he has to accommodate everyone. As, we live in a global society, seclusion is not true independence but living in harmony is, modern luxuries to some extent help in solving this issue, with devices which can translate for better communication, enable exchange of thoughts between people from different indigenous places. These luxuries have united the world and brought people closer than ever before, by connecting the via different inventions like telephones, mails etc.

True independence and strong individuals are the people who can work along and use contemporary gadgets and luxuries to bring the world closer together and make it a better place for everyone, this will ensure strong development of the global society.