Claim: The surest indicator of a great nation must be the achievements of its rulers, artists or, scientists.

Reason: Great achievements by a nation's rulers, artists, or scientists will ensure a good life for the majority of that nation's people.

Although achievements of rulers, artists or, scientists are important to devolpe a nation into a great nation but it could not be the only deciding parameter. Achievements of rulers, artists, or scientists indicated what the individual in a nation is capable of but it does not ensure a good life of majority of that nation's people.

Achievements always supports in becoming a great nation but it can not be the surest indicator. Achievements tell more about the nature of the people in the country rather that the well-being of the people. For example, any successful scientist becomes successful because of the qualities like hardwork, dedication, devotion, etc. A nation definately shares some amount of credit in the achievment but that does not imply that it is the surest indicator of good nation.

Furthermore, I feel that, one can judge a nation from the welfare of all its people. The welfare garentees the health, happiness and fortune of nation' people. The devolped contries like USA, Canada provide more funds to improve health, education, infrastucture which provides the better quality of living. As a result, The welfare of people in nation is enriched which apperently ensures a good life.

In addition to this, A good life of a person shares big role while achieveing something great in respective field but the converse of it is not always true. A person with strong belives can secure great achievement without having a good life initially. Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam, a former president of India and a well-known scientist was born in a small village of India and was not from a very strong family background. Even though, Dr. Kalam had achived something which a person from a strong and healthy background may not achieve. Hence, it is not always correct that a person can only get great achievement if he had a good life.

From the above points, It can be conclude that achievements of rulers, artists or, scientists are important to devolpe a nation into a great nation but it could not be the only deciding parameter. Achievements of rulers, artists, or scientists indicated what the individual in a nation is capable of but it does not ensure a good life of majority of that nation's people.