Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and reason on which that claim is based.

Claim: The best way to understand the character of society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role model.

Reason: Heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

Heroes and role models are chosen by the society. Society makes someone as a hero or a role model by looking at the qualities possessed by him/her. To be a hero or a role model is not someone's wish, but society decides who they want to see as a hero or a role model. Hence, one can say that the best way to understand the character of society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its hero or its role model as heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.

First of all, society has the right of deciding a hero or a role model. Heroes and role models are the ideals of society. Society desires to be like them. For example, Dr. APJ Abdul Kalam, one of the greatest scientists and former president of India is a role model of many people because what he has achieved in his life is a great inspiration for others. People admire him. Many young scientists follow their footsteps in order to achieve their goals. Thus, heroes and role models are the people who society wants to become like.

Furthermore, heroes and role models have the power of influencing the society. Any word or sentence said by the hero or role model has a huge impact on the people who follow him. For instance, Adolf Hitler, a ruler of Germany was a demagogue, who created aversion in the hearts of people towards one another which ultimately lead to World War II. Thus, the character of heroes and role models has a high influence on society, and society’s character can be judged by the character of heroes and role models.

In addition to that, heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals. Heroes and role models are people who possess idealistic nature. For example, Sachin Tendulkar, one of the best cricketers of India, is treated as the God of cricket. The way he plays acts as a great motivation for many young cricketers. Therefore, heroes and role models reveal society's highest ideals.

To sum up, from the above discussion one can say that, the best way to understand the character of society is to examine the character of the men and women that the society chooses as its heroes or its role model as heroes and role models reveal a society's highest ideals.