A recent sales study indicates that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has increased by 30 percent during the past five years. Yet there are no currently operating city restaurants whose specialty is seafood. Moreover, the majority of families in Bay City are two-income families, and a nationwide study has shown that such families eat significantly fewer home-cooked meals than they did a decade ago but at the same time express more concern about healthful eating. Therefore, the new Captain Seafood restaurant that specializes in seafood should be quite popular and profitable.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be addressed in order to decide whether the conclusion and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to the questions would help to evaluate the conclusion.

The author has made an argument that a new specialized seafood restaurant called Captain Seafood will be popular and profitable. The author has provided some data to make his point valid. However, the author’s argument does not seem well thought through and neglects several possibilities glossing over various unanswered questions.

Firstly, an author has provided a sales study which states that consumption of seafood dishes in Bay City restaurants has increased by 30 percent during the past five years. We do not have sufficient information about the studies that were undertaken. For one thing, how many restaurants participated in the study? If the restaurants studied were less in number then the study won’t be that reliable. Also, it is very important to know the consumption of seafood for 5 years. As this might be the case that the number of people preferring the seafood before was already so less in number than the increase of 30 percent is of no significance.

As the author has explicitly mentioned that currently there are no operating city restaurants whose specialty is seafood, thus it might be possible that previously the seafood specialty restaurants existed. Hence the author has to answer the questions like, what were the locations of the restaurants, how was the hospitality and the ambiance, how was the taste of food offered by them, etc. For a restaurant to become popular and profitable the taste of the food, its hospitality and ambiance, accessibility of location are very important factors to be considered.

Furthermore, the author has mentioned that in a nationwide study, two-income families eat significantly fewer home-cooked meals than they did a decade ago but at the same time express more concern about healthful eating and in Bay-city most of the families are two-income families. The results of the study seem to be unreliable because of the following questions being unanswered. Was seafood preferred by the families who participated in the study? Is it correct to generalize the nationwide study to the Bay city? As it might be possible that most of the families being surveyed preferred eating vegetarian food, thus it would not be beneficial for the restaurants whose specialty is seafood. Also, what is applicable to the nation may not be true for the city.

To sum up, Thus, the author should not make any hasty predictions about the popularity and profitability of the restaurant, as it may prove to be a waste of money and time. Questions regarding the author’s prediction of the new Captain Seafood restaurant, which specializes in seafood, should be thoroughly investigated before the author’s prediction is put into practice.