Claim: Any piece of information referred to as fact should be mistrusted, since it may well be proven false in the future.

Reason: Much of the information that people assume is factual actually turns out to be inaccurate.

The claim that," Any piece of information referred to as fact should be mistrusted, since it may well be proven false in the future" seems to be incorrect in some situations, and the reason was given for this that, "Much of the information that people assume is factual actually turns out to be inaccurate." seems to be correct, but not totally satisfying the claim.

Facts act as a base of any academic Problem to be solved, thus if mistrusted initially one will end up finding about them again and again, which will ultimately lead to a wastage of time. For example, while designing a Beam of a Building there are various facts which are kept in mind such as the Strength of the beam, its yield stress, the composition of the material, etc. Thus, one doesn’t have to waste time experimentally finding about them again which earlier someone had proved and is called a fact today. Thus, the facts taken from the trusted sources could be considered instead of being mistrusted by worrying that may well be proven false in the future.

Thus, the trustworthiness of the fact becomes a major concern. The trustworthiness of the fact depends on the source from which it is taken, thus at times, it becomes necessary to cross-check the fact. For instance, there are several online websites where we get lots of information. But there are only a few trusted sites which provide us with genuine information. Thus, it is necessary to check whether the source is trustworthy or not. Thus, sometimes the information might be inaccurate, and mistrusting the facts may help.

Although, the facts act as basic assumptions for solving any problem, the theoretical calculations not necessarily abide by the final results. For instance, the ideal fuel consumption of a vehicle given by the manufacturer may vary from its actual fuel consumption, this doesn’t mean that the assumptions made for designing the vehicle or finding the efficiency of the vehicle is wrong, as the ideal state is calculated considering ideal situations which will definitely differ from the actual ones. Thus, the results may be inaccurate, but it will be incorrect to say that, it is because the facts assumed were wrong. As there might be any other reason causing inaccuracy.

Thus, the claim seems to be situation-dependent and is thus partially correct. Also, the reason seems to be partially correct as the source plays a great role in proving the information derived by the people, from the facts, to be accurate.