Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve.

Government officials are appointed for the betterment of a country, a state, or a region. Hence, they should not just rely on their judgment but also account for the will of the people they serve.

Firstly, let us say, two groups of people are debating on an issue and a government official has to reconcile the matter. In this case, if an official only hears one side of the case and make a decision, it will be an injustice to the other group of people. Listening to both sides of the story is always necessary to make justice. Any government official should not make any hasty decisions by coming under the influence of any specific group. Hence it is better to rely on own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of people.

In addition to that, people's thoughts are sometimes wavy and capricious. Many times, people do not land on the same conclusion. People always agree on those matters which are beneficial for themselves. For instance, in ancient days, when two people had counter opinions about a specific topic, they had to settle it with the help of the king as he was an outsider and hence could take an impartial decision based on his own judgment. Likewise, the government officials are the viewers of the matter. Hence, an impartial decision by them serves the best for everyone.

Sometimes, relying on their own judgment could not always be beneficial for the people. Government officials outlook the problem but never actually suffer. Hence, there is a possibility that the solution offered by them does not resolve the problem completely. To illustrate, recently the Indian government had passed the Farm bills to empower the farmers, yet they had raised their voice against it. Because the bill had many arguments which were specious, thus might indirectly affect the farmers adversely. Hence, it is necessary to account for the opinions of people to include their views before passing any decision.

To sum up, one can say that, it is necessary for the government officials to rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve. But while fulfilling this necessity, government officials should also not forget to take into account the opinions of people.