Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The following appeared in a memo from a Vice President of a large, highly diversified company.

"Ten years ago our company had two new office buildings constructed as regional headquarters for two regions. The buildings were erected by different construction companies - Alpha and Zeta. Although the two buildings had identical floor plans, the building constructed by Zeta cost 30 percent more to build. However, that building's expenses for maintenance last year were only half those of Alpha's. In addition, the energy consumption of Zeta building has been lower than that of the Alpha building every year since its construction. Given these data, plus the fact that Zeta has a stable workforce with little employee turnover, we recommend using Zeta rather than Alpha for our new building project, even though Alpha's bid promises lower construction costs."

The author recommends using Zeta rather than Alpha construction company for the new building project in order to avoid high maintenance costs and lower the energy consumption. However the author's recommendation does not seem to be well thought through, thus makes hasty interpretations of the data acquired, related to the maintenance and energy costs, without giving a thought to their credibility.

The author mentions that the building made by Zeta construction company costed more as compared to Alpha, although both of the buildings had same floor plans. Further, he says, the Zeta's building expenses for maintenance last year were only half those of Alpha's. Before landing to the given recommendation, the author needs to gloss over a few questions like what was the maintenance cost per year since the construction of the buildings? As it is very difficult to elicit such a conclusion by studying the data for only one year. One might reveal from the previous ten years’ results that the maintenance cost for Alpha is less than that of Zeta, thus proving the author’s recommendation unreliable.

Secondly, the author says that the energy consumption of Zeta has been lower than that of Alpha every year since its construction. As mentioned earlier it is important to know how much the workforce was present in the respective buildings? As more the number of people more will be energy consumption. Thus, it will be incorrect to blame the construction company for higher energy consumption. Further, it is also important to know the regularity of the energy supply in both the buildings, if the Zeta building faced frequent power cuts then it is obvious that their energy consumption is less than that of Alpha's.

Also, the author provides additional information that Zeta has a stable workforce with little employee turnover. Author's this statement gives rise to further questions that if the employees of Zeta company had a little turnover, then why did the company charged more for construction? Even though the company has a stable workforce but it is charging more from its customer, which will be bad from an economic point of view for the customer. Also, the buildings were constructed 10 years ago thus it will be important to know, whether now they are maintaining the same reputation in the market? As 10 years period is long enough and it is not compulsory that the Zeta company which had a stable workforce 10 years before will have it now.

Thus, the author should not make hasty decisions about using Zeta rather than Alpha for the new building project, even though Alpha's bid promises lower construction costs, as it may prove to be the waste of money. Issues regarding the company's present reputation, information about the number of people in the buildings, maintenance history, etc. should be thoroughly investigated before the author's recommendation is put into practice.